Singing Praise To The King

Friends,
My song of praise today:

Oh, Lord, You are so very wonderful
You are majestic on Your mighty throne.

You who are
The great King and God,
Still stoop to listen–
To listen and love…
To cherish us and help us when we call.

So, Lord, I call to You now,
I know that You always answer,
For I am Your child
And You are my Heavenly Father.

So I trust You,
My eyes are ever on You,
Listening for Your words of guidance.
Ready to obey…
In faith, action, praise,
And rest.

I am grateful, Lord,
That I can know,
That You are faithful, true, and good.
You are compassionate and kind.

You are gracious,
The strong tower we can run to.
And You surround me
As a shield,
A fortress You surely are to me.

Thank you. Thank you, God.
I am so blessed to know You.
If all others fail me,
If all the world crumbles,
Still You are on Your throne.

And still You are
My refuge and my comfort.
And You will see to it
That I’m raised up.
My soul no longer worries
When I have You.

Yes, Lord, thank you
So very, very much…
That I have YOU.

Many will be hurting this winter. Job, even home, loss… enduring a lonely Christmas due to divorce, separation, or death… health issues and no money to cover… There’s much sadness and fear out there. But when we have the Lord, when we have His Word, when we have His presence… we can lie down in safety, in quiet sleep, in restful assurance… knowing that WE are not the Shepherd, the Caretaker of our lives… no, HE is. And in that, we can find rest for our souls.

“Find rest, O my soul, in God alone; my hope comes from Him. He ALONE is my rock and my salvation; [nothing else –no person, job, investment, program, church, etc.] He is my fortress, I will not be shaken. God Most High is my salvation and my honor; He is my mighty rock, my refuge. Trust in Him at ALL times, O people; pour out your hearts to Him, for God is our refuge.” (Ps. 62:5-8)

Indeed He is. May we believe His Word –His words of comfort.

Sincerely,
with love,
Rachel

~ by smilesback on December 23, 2009.

 
