Withered Arm, Right Eye Blinded!

Friends,
“This is what the LORD my God says: ‘Pasture the flock marked for slaughter. Their buyers slaughter them and go unpunished. Those who sell them say, ‘Praise the LORD, I am rich!’ Their own shepherds do not spare them. For I will no longer have pity on the people of the land,’ declares the LORD. ‘I will hand everyone over to his neighbor and his king. They will oppress the land, and I will not rescue them from their hands.’ So I pastured the flock marked for slaughter, particularly the oppressed of the flock.” (Zech. 11:4-7)

God, in speaking to Zechariah, says, “The flock detested Me, and I grew weary of them and said, ‘I will not be your shepherd. Let the dying die, and the perishing perish. Let those who are left eat one another’s flesh.’ Then I took My staff called Favor and broke it, revoking the covenant I had made with all the nations. [Note it does not say “Israel”, so this speaks of the NEW Covenant.] It was revoked on that day, and so the afflicted of the flock who were watching me knew it was the word of the LORD.” (11:8-11) A remnant out of “Christianity” will be saved…

The next several verses is a prophecy concerning the betrayal of Jesus.

“Then the LORD said to me, ‘Take again the equipment of a foolish shepherd. For I am going to raise up a shepherd over the land who will not care for the lost, or seek the young, or heal the injured, or feed the healthy, but will eat the meat of the choice sheep, tearing off their hoofs.'” (11:15,16) This chapter is somewhat veiled and hard to understand… one reason is because it is almost as if Zechariah is being told to act out some of what is really about God and His chosen race, and also what is actually about Jesus and His flock, the church.

The last verse of the chapter (v. 17) is still God speaking: “Woe to the worthless shepherd, who deserts the flock! May the sword strike his arm and his right eye! May his arm be completely withered, his right eye totally blinded!”

Friends, that is a curse upon shepherds who are pasturing the flock called “Christianity”. Their arm has no power and their best eye is blinded to truth. Do we not have these types of shepherds everywhere in the church, in Christendom, who say, “Praise the Lord! I am rich off the choice sheep, I care nothing for those who can’t benefit me, except to pretend to wave my ‘concern’ around so others will think I’m really loving and holy and Christ-like… And I don’t need to actually feed the flock. I’ll thump the Bible at them a bit, but really I’ll be encouraging them to feed me!”

Oh, that’s not what these shepherds actually say in words; but the motives of their hearts speak this loud and clear for those who are not so gullible… those who see the rotten fruit under the thin veneer of candied glaze.

Yes, sadly, the flock of Christ is being devoured, being scammed, being fed lies, being entertained to their destruction… but they are not being fed or cared for. The foolish of the flock –the majority–go along with the silly, wretched ploy –falling into the lap of the enemy himself… but the “afflicted” –those who have learned to rely only upon the true Shepherd, are the ones who will watch it happen and know it is retribution from the LORD.

Church, the staff of God’s Favor is about to snap… to splinter in fragments… Do you even care?

Sincerely,
with love,
Rachel

~ by smilesback on December 8, 2009.

 
