Exceedingly Grateful For His Word

Friends,
Tomorrow is Thanksgiving Day. It is a lovely day, a day to concentrate on giving of thanks to our great God.

Whenever we go to my aunt’s house, she always asks everyone to share what they have been most thankful for during that year. I almost always cannot help but say, “God’s Word.” Yes, there are so very many –abundantly many– things to be exceedingly grateful for, like: Sight –being able to see another’s smiling face, a sunset, golden-red leaves fluttering down, elegant horses prancing in a field, colors, shapes, etc. Or how about hearing –being able to hear a loved one’s voice say, “I love you”, or hear children laughing, or hear the microwave bell… some people can’t hear these things, you know… How about being utterly grateful for our hands and fingers –that we can write, type, brush our own teeth… many of my friends at the nursing home can’t do these things… And if we’ve ever had our hand in a cast, we quickly learn how privileged we are when we do have full use of our limbs.

Well, I could go on and on and on speaking of all the excellent gifts God has given us. Things I never want to take for granted. Things like a couch to sit on, a table to eat at, a lamp –oh, electricity–definitely! Have you ever gone without electricity? Like when a thunderstorm has come through and knocked it out for a night…? –alarm clocks, curling irons, and microwave didn’t work –ahhh, no coffee! Well, most of my growing up years, we lived in the jungle –no electricity or running water– but now I’m spoiled… but still very grateful too!

Again, like I said, I could go on… but I won’t for now. I just want to say, besides all these other blessings, still, the one I find I could not live without is… God’s Word. Those precious words… promises… exhortations… encouragements… are truly my main food, my joy, my love. I love the Lord with all my heart. Therefore, I love His words with all my heart. Oh, the precious Word… How could I go on without it? Truly, how do people live their lives without this living bread, without this treasure… found amongst the pages…?

Yes, I say with the Psalmist in 119:111, “Your statutes are my heritage forever; they are the joy of my heart.”

So, “Let us give thanks to the LORD for His unfailing love and His wonderful deeds for men. Let us sacrifice thank offerings and tell of His works with songs of joy.” (Ps. 107:21,22)

And what is the verse before these two? –“He sent forth His word and healed them…” (v. 20) Indeed, His words, His Word, and the gentle whisper of His Holy Spirit who abides in us… does heal. He heals our souls… –where we need it the most.

May you too, love His Word. And tell Him so. Not just at Thanksgiving Time. But all the time.

Amen. (That means, “So be it.”)

Love,
Rachel

~ by smilesback on November 25, 2009.

 
