Believe God Only, And Wait

Friends,
God’s ways (as well as His advice and council) are usually completely the opposite of human’s. As Isa. 55:8,9 say, “‘For My thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways My ways,’ declares the LORD. ‘As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are My ways higher than your ways and My thoughts than your thoughts.'” This applies to everything, including waiting. Being patient is a divine attribute, a virtue that comes from the Lord. And yes, waiting is often a much more courageous and godly thing to do than action.

Heb. 10:23 encourages us, “Let us hold unswervingly to the hope we profess, for He who promised is faithful.” And Heb. 11:39 assures us, “These [believers] were all commended for their faith.” Yes, and don’t we walk by FAITH, not sight –2 Cor. 5:7? But “without faith it is impossible to please God, because anyone who comes to Him must believe that He exists and that He rewards those who diligently seek Him.” (Heb. 11:6) He will reward, and He will deliver all promises He has made to each of His trusting, expectant children. We get bogged down in the (often) long wait, but if we continue to trust, He will not let us down. His Word confirms this, and He and His Word do not lie. As Isa. 49:23 says, “Those who hope in Me will not be disappointed.”

I like Jer. 33:14 where God says, “‘The days are coming,’ declares the LORD, ‘when I will fulfill the gracious promise I made to [you]…'” If He has made you the promise, He will fulfill it.

And one promise is simply that He will reward us. “‘Restrain your voice from weeping and your eyes from tears, for your work [your petitioning Him] will be rewarded,’ declares the LORD. ‘They will return from the land of the enemy. So there is hope for your future,’ declares the LORD. ‘Your children will return to their own land.'” (Jer. 31:16,17) For “no ear has perceived, no eye has seen any God besides You, who acts on behalf of those who WAIT for Him.” (Isaiah 64:4)

Look at these verses:

Ps. 130:5,6 –“I wait for the LORD, my soul waits, and in His word I put my hope. My soul waits for the LORD more than watchmen wait for the morning…”

Ps. 62:1,2 –“My soul finds rest in God alone; my salvation / deliverance [hope –v.5] comes from Him. He alone is my rock, and my salvation; He is my fortress, I will never be shaken.”

Ps. 6:8,9 –“Away from me, all you who do evil [or you who don’t have the LORD’S words / council / advice], for the LORD has heard my weeping. The LORD has heard my cry for mercy; the LORD accepts my prayer.”

And by His power in us, we can abide by this one too: “Consider Him who endured such opposition from sinful men, so that you will not grow weary and lose heart.” (Heb. 12:3) We are never to lose heart.

So, “Be strong and take heart, all you who hope in the LORD.” (Ps. 31:24)

Amen.
Love,
Rachel

~ by smilesback on November 13, 2009.

 
