Hope, Comfort, & Promises

Friends,
It’s been a beautiful week… perfect weather… I finished some work and went outside to watch the late afternoon shadow creep across our pasture… Brought my Scripture verses out with me –as I usually do… to practice… Tired, though… But the Lord seemed to nudge me… to at least glance at the one list I’ve avoided lately… the verses about faith, hope, comfort, promises……

First one I noticed –it was halfway down… Heb. 10:35-39… I read the first two verses… then read them again. You know how it is when you just know the Lord is speaking something to you? –His Holy Spirit to your spirit? It’s so precious. So kind. So merciful. So powerful. Sometimes soft. But often intense. No, I didn’t even try to blink back the tears… I was just grateful. I realized He was answering my complaints… my doubts… and I soaked in the sweetness of such compassion…

Well, verses 35,36 say, “So do not throw away your confidence; it will be richly rewarded. You need to persevere so that when you have done the will of God, you will receive what He has promised.”

What comfort. What hope!!

Later, while sorting through a drawer, I happened across a copy of “Our Daily Bread” –the 1984 Fall issue –of all things! (–Plus I don’t know where it came from!) Anyway, Nov. 6 looked a bit about politics (which I’ve avoided for almost three years), so I glanced at Nov. 7th and the quote at the bottom says, “Tarry at a promise till God meets you there.” Hmmm… nice… Then the poem (anonymous) spoke to me also. Here it is:

“Be still my heart, for faithful is your Lord

And pure and true and tried His holy Word;

Through stormy flood that rages as the sea,

His promises your steppingstones will be.”

Again… –comfort. When our hearts are fretting; when our brains just can’t figure out which path is the best; when we’ve begged the Lord to reveal His will on a matter; when He still just says, “Wait”; when He shines the light on just one more stepping stone –instead of way up the path like we’d like; when He’s made a promise, but it appears to be an impossibility; when our prayers and our preaching and our love and our efforts seem to fall on deaf ears and stony hearts… He speaks comfort. He speaks hope. He speaks strength. He says, “It will be worth it.”

So we look up, we smile through our tears, and we say, “Yes, Lord. I will persevere. I will be faithful to Your service. I don’t know much, but I do know this: You are a good God, a good Shepherd. And wherever You lead me, I will obey. Thank you for helping me remain faithful. I love You, God. Amen.”

Sincerely,
Rachel

~ by smilesback on November 6, 2009.

 
