Prayers To Start Your Morning

Friends,
I have often conversed with others about the importance of prayer, specifically about doing so first thing in the morning –before Satan, others, or oneself has the chance to try to usurp from God His servant’s heart and mind. I’ll share some of what I pray most every day upon waking –in case others of you may want to use something similar. I actually often pray these things once or twice again during each day –especially when faced with any sudden new decisions to be made– so that all of me will continuously and completely be submitted to His lordship –He who is the great and awesome King Most High.

Here’s some of it:

“Heavenly Father, In the name of Jesus, Your Son, I take every thought captive to the obedience of Christ as Your Word says to do in 2 Cor. 10:5. I submit to Your Lordship: My heart, my mind, my will, my emotions, my decisions, my relationships, my affections, my hopes, my dreams, my aspirations, my expectations, and my prayers. Also, everything I read, write, listen to, and watch. Everything I eat and drink. Everything I wear and when. Everywhere I go, and when. My time, my desires, and my life are completely devoted to You, Lord, because I truly do want to please you perfectly. So please HELP me to please You by filling me with your Holy Spirit. Thank you for coming to earth to ransom us. I love You, God… very much. Amen.”

I pray a lot of other things too, of course, but that is the prayer I start with –as soon as I wake up. I also try, even if I’m discouraged, to sing “new songs” to Him, which I just make up. I also like to exalt Him by describing who He is to me. “Lord, You are my Fortress, my Rock, my Shelter, my Protector, my Deliverer, my Savior, my Redeemer, my Ransomer, The Lifter of my spirit, the Anchor of my soul, my Helper, my Shield, my Comforter, my Counselor, my Teacher, my Friend, my Shepherd, my Provider, my Stronghold…” I also put in adjectives often, like “majestic, good, kind, merciful, loving, compassionate, strong, mighty, all-powerful, all-knowing, beautiful, great, awesome, amazing, glorious, holy…” I also ask that He cause nations and peoples to ascribe to Him the glory due His name, and that all blessing, honor, power, might, dominions, kingdoms, rulership, reverence, exaltation, worship, obedience, wealth, wisdom, beauty, splendor, strength… be ascribed to Him. That His will will be done on earth and in my life, just as it is done in Heaven. And that He will soon bring all other powers and principalities to naught.

Those are the prayers of surrender and praise I offer up to God –all based on what Scripture teaches us to do and say. As well as this, I also ever morning, (and maybe other times too,) am sure to insert repentance praying, making sure I do this before I make my requests and petitions. I usually kneel on sackcloth, which is of course a symbol of repentance, as I bow with my forehead on my Bible. A good repentance prayer to start with is Ps. 51:10,17.

Of course there can be shortened versions of all these prayers. Like: “Lord God, in the name of Your Son, Jesus, I come humbly into Your majestic presence. I surrender all of me to You today and always. Help me to please You perfectly… every single minute today –and always. Because You are worthy to be praised, honored, adored, and obeyed. Thank you so much for being my Savior, my God, and my Heavenly Father. And for making me Your child. Please forgive me and cleanse me of all sin. I love You. Amen.” That covers it too.

I do not believe in ritual. But I believe in practicing good habits. So making it a habit to begin our day with prayers similar to these (and meaning them) will please God and enable His people to walk in strength, faith, and obedience.

Sincerely,
Rachel

~ by smilesback on October 29, 2009.

 
