A Cockroach Found In Your Tea

Friends,
In my alone time with the Lord this morning I happened to read Ecc. 10:1 again. It says, “As dead flies give perfume a bad smell, so a little folly outweighs wisdom and honor.” I meditated on it… how one ounce of foolishness can negate one’s good reputation, one’s blessed life, one’s right standing with God.

I pondered all the times that I’ve heard compromising statements, all the many excuses I’ve heard about something being “no big deal”, all the times I’ve seen even pastors shrug off the importance of sticking to the exact truth of correct doctrine and pure behavior and speech for themselves and other leadership in their church.

As the verse above teaches, a little error –unattended to– corrodes the whole lump. One fly begets maggots. One drop of arsenic can kill. Even one cockroach found in one’s tea would cause the whole glass-full to get poured down the drain –for no thinking person would try to sip around it!

I thought of the many times that I’ve seen one word of slander devastate a friendship, a family, a church, a soul. I thought of the many times one action killed. Killed a marriage. Killed a career. Killed a family. Killed a life. Like one act of road rage… or even one careless miscalculation… or one misinformed judgment…

Let’s be careful. Let’s be sure our words are HIS words, our actions are HIS actions, our judgments are HIS judgments, our desires are HIS desires, our doctrines are HIS doctrines, our thoughts are HIS thoughts…

We do this through knowing Him. And His Word.

Love,
Rachel

~ by smilesback on October 28, 2009.

 
