Their Lenses Are Askew

Friends,
At dusk last night I went outside to turn on our garden light as I do every night. I glanced into the bedroom as its light was on, the curtains open. Just very suddenly, I was flooded with gratefulness. I continued to look in at the cozy room –the big bed, the little exquisite things dotted on the dressers, the lovely lamps, the closet doors open revealing all those clothes… I thought, “What if I was homeless and was looking in at all that?” I oriented my viewpoint as if I was. Then I thought of my many homeless friends, and I shed some tears… but I also was doing so with appreciation of the Lord’s immense goodness to me.

So, I just stood there and meditated… on how rich most of us are… how rich I am! I mean, this is a modest ranch house, but to a homeless person gazing in on all that… standing out in the dark, damp air, looking in at the inviting coziness… well, it would seem like Heaven.

I mention this fleeting, but powerful experience, because it impressed much on me. Like how much we act, speak, and think based on the lenses we use to view the world around us. To view its inhabitants. To view experiences. To view belief systems.

I am an American, but I was born in and grew up in another country. And even when we came to the USA, we stopped to live in Hawaii for three years for my dad to get his Ph.D in Cultural Anthropology. And for high-schoolers, that melting-pot of cultures was quite an education in itself!

So I say that, to say this: Our culture, our experiences, our beliefs, all either enhance or cloud our perceptions. If we have been coddled all our lives, or we have easily acquired fame, wealth, degrees, or success, then we will less likely be grateful, empathetic, or unbiased.

So it’s about the lens –the lens we look through. And it made me sad to think that many have skewed lens of belief about God, who He is, what He has done for us, and what He has revealed through the Bible. Many people start on a wrong foundation, and then all that they believe, as well as their words and actions which follow, are perceived through a wrong set of lenses.

Many lay the foundation of their theology based on a man, and the man’s interpretations and doctrines. But we are not to have any foundation other than Christ Jesus. (1 Cor. 3:11 & Eph. 2:20) If we do, it is a false foundation, and it will fall “with a great crash.” (Matt. 7:27) For “everyone who hears these words of mine and does not put them into practice is like a foolish man who built his house on sand.” (Jesus in v. 26) If pastors and others revere a man’s doctrines above, or simply next to, the pure Word of God, then they are listening to words other than Jesus’ words, and they will thus negate their ability to correctly put His words into practice. For it will erode their ability to interpret the Scriptures with the help of the Holy Spirit, who is the only one any of us should rely on for interpreting it. (1 John 2:27) Most people will vehemently deny it, but they certainly do lay a foundation other than Christ by the very fact that they spend far more time reading man’s words, doctrines, teachings, philosophies, etc., than they do the Word of God.

These individuals have the means to find the truth about God. But they refuse. They refuse by neglecting to study His Word, and instead turn to study the words of a man –even one who ordered the murder and torture of many! They refuse by their act of preaching and teaching from man’s written works, rather than the written Word of God. Consequently, they weave themselves ever further from the truth, choosing to be purposefully deceived.

Let’s see this for what it is, leave these people, and never imitate their foolishness.

Sincerely,
Rachel

~ by smilesback on October 16, 2009.

 
