Hope Even While Helpless

Friends,
With so many people hurting, wandering around in bewilderment, I want to give out hope and encouragement with these verses:

“Though NOTHING is going good in my life… yet I will rejoice in the Lord. I will be joyful in God my Savior.” (See Hab. 3:17-19, paraphrased) Rejoicing in God sends the enemy running. It also help us get our perspectives right.

“Set your minds on things above, not on earthly things. For YOU DIED and your life is now hidden with Christ in God.” (Col. 3:2,3) Have we died? Can we view ourselves as dead? The dead are free from the worries of life.

“May I never boast except in the cross of our Lord Jesus Christ, through which the world has been crucified to me, and I to the world.” (Gal. 6:14) If we have truly died to the world, that death is exactly what will save us, including “saving” our emotions. We will no longer feel upset. Everything that comes into our life, we will say, “You, Lord, have allowed this. I know You see me right here at Your feet. And I know You see this huge wound. And I know You see that I’m in immense pain.” Or, “I know You see the trial my loved one is having to endure. Will You please pick us up, hold us, help us, and heal us?” He will, as He says, “Do not be afraid, …O Little One, for I Myself will help you.” (See Isaiah 41:14, paraphrased)

One key to victory that I’ve learned is this: HELPLESSNESS along with total TRUST in God. It’s like when we are trying to help a cricket out the door and it is too scared, so it keeps jumping out of our hands. Let’s not fret. Let’s stop trying to scramble out of our loving Shepherd’s hands.

Go to His Word. Stop trying to find truth, love, peace, and satisfaction elsewhere. “Jesus answered, ‘It is written: ‘Man does not live by bread alone, but by every word that comes out of the mouth of God.'” (Matt. 4:4) Oh, that we would just BELIEVE this! We need to put one foot in front of the other and walk over to the bed-stand and pick up our Bibles and “eat” it. It WILL feed our spirits and we MUST do it every day to be healthy and fit in our spirits. We eat physical food so that we don’t feel weak or dizzy. So it is with eating God’s Word.

Therefore, “I will never forget Your precepts, for by them You have renewed my life.” (Ps. 119:93)

So take hope in God’s Word.
Love,
Rachel

~ by smilesback on August 20, 2009.

 
