Holy Spirit Life (continued)

Friends,

Here are the main ingredients, I believe, to walking the Holy Spirit-controlled victorious life:

*Believe: Matt. 21:22– “If you believe, you will receive whatever you ask for in prayer.”

*Trust: Prov. 3:5,6– “Trust the Lord completely. Don’t ever trust yourself. In everything you do, put God first, and He will direct you and crown your efforts with success.”

*Submit to God: James 4:7– “Submit yourselves, then, to God. Resist the devil, and he will flee from you.” (One practical way I do this is by saying–out loud–2 Cor. 10:5– I “take every thought captive to make it obedient to Christ.”)

*Pray: 1 Thes. 5:17– “Pray continually.” (This is constantly being aware of Christ’s presence, and communing with Him –our spirit to His Spirit– whether you are actually speaking words at the moment or not.)

Eph. 6:18– “And pray in the Spirit on all occasions with all kinds of prayers and requests.” (Praying in the Spirit is especially helpful, because it is the Holy Spirit that starts to pray out of my spirit –with my voice; and He knows –much better than I do– what needs to be prayed about right then. This can be in English or “in tongues” / a prayer language, but English is nice, because then I understand what I’m saying, and it seems to strengthen my faith even more. “I will pray with my spirit, but I will also pray with my mind.” –1 Cor. 14:15)

Jesus said in John 4:24, “God is spirit, and His worshipers must worship in spirit and in truth.” (That, by the way, is something many people are not doing. They attempt to worship God when they barely know Him, His ways, or His Word. Many also “worship” through their senses –striving to FEEL a “high” or euphoria, even a drunk, tingling, or heat sensation; striving to get excited through a beat of music, soft and/or repetitious “love words” to Jesus, flashing colored lights, waving hands, pretty banners, incense, candles, etc. –all of which panders to the physical body, NOT the spirit. Be wary. It is Satan who lures us that way, not God.)

1 Tim. 5:5– “…[They] hope in God and continue night and day to pray and to ask God for help.” (Keep on praying –don’t lose hope. God’s timing is best.)

*Praise: Ps. 8:2– “From the lips of children and infants You have ordained praise because of Your enemies, to silence the foe and the avenger.” This tells us that praise defeats the enemy. By the way, I avoid speaking to the enemy. He is full of games and full of lies. I speak TO THE LORD, reminding Him of His promises, and the enemy hates that; so he doesn’t stick around to listen.

Singing to the Lord is very powerful also. “I will sing with my spirit, but I will also sing with my mind.” (1 Cor. 14:15) God will “surround me with songs of deliverance.” (Ps. 32:7) And God “leads forth the prisoners with singing.” (Ps. 68:6)

Having grateful hearts is so key also! “He who sacrifices THANK offerings honors Me, and he prepares the way so that I may show him the salvation of God.” (Ps. 50:23)

*Study His Word: Josh. 1:8– “…meditate on it [the Word] day and night, so that you may be careful to do everything written in it. Then you will be prosperous and successful.”

Ps. 119:99,130,93– “I have more insight than all my teachers, for I meditate on Your statutes… The entrance of Your words gives light… I will never forget Your precepts, for by them You have renewed my life.”

*Resist the enemy by calling on Jesus’ name: Phil. 2:9-11– “Therefore God exalted Him to the highest place and gave Him the name that is above every name, that at the name of Jesus every knee should bow, in heaven and on earth and under the earth…”

Resist the enemy by calling on Jesus’ blood: Rev. 12:11– “They overcame him [the accuser] by the blood of the Lamb and by the word of their testimony.” (Testify; that is, speak words! Words that glorify Jesus’ sacrifice for us on the cross.)

*******
Yes, this may seem like a lot to do. But, dear friend, it IS a war! “Fight the good fight, holding on to faith and a good conscience” (1 Tim. 1:18,19) and “be strong in the Lord and in His mighty power. Put on the full armor of God so that you can take your stand against the devil’s schemes.” (Eph. 6:10,11) “Be self-controlled and alert. Your enemy the devil prowls around like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour.” (1 Peter 5:8) “No one serving as a soldier gets involved in civilian affairs– he wants to please his commanding officer” (2 Tim. 2:4), so “Run in such a way as to get the prize” (1 Cor. 9:24), “Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead…” (Phil. 3:13)

Do not look back at the past –look FORWARD!!!!!!! Let’s believe God when He says in Isaiah 43:18– “Forget the former things [all those failures, etc.]; do not dwell on the past. See, I am doing a NEW thing!”

It is a total joy to serve the King of the universe. Why? Because it most certainly is true and real and supernatural; and as we abide in Him and His Words, we find strength, peace, love, comfort, wisdom, guidance, joy, and…VICTORY!

Remember that we are dearly loved,
By Him…
Love,
Rachel

~ by smilesback on August 14, 2009.

 
